Birthday planning

I've just realised that my 30th birthday is sneaking up on me without me paying much attention to it. So I find myself in need of organising a birthday party in about two and a half weeks' time, having done nothing to arrange it so far beyond asking a few mates to save the date. It is possible that I am in denial.

I'm fairly new to ED, and a busy couple of months at work have meant that I don't really have a sense of the afternoon/night life or the drinking dens. I'd thought about either hiring a room/booking some space in a pub, preferably with some outdoors options on the off chance it's a nice day, and spending Saturday afternoon into evening getting gently boozed up with about 15-20 friends. Decent beer would be an advantage. Food might be a nice idea. Lots will be coming from north of the river or further afield, so ease of location would be good. What would forumites recommend? Anybody in particular I should speak to?

PS: I should point out it's a varied mix of friends, some older (maybe a couple of kids in tow early doors), some younger. Crucially, however, the only one who I suspect owns a pair of crocs and has 'ironic' glasses is out of town that weekend.

PPS: Yes, I know this could turn into a general invite to a forum to which I've only made a couple of contributions, which would be a bit weird. But if you make a decent suggestion and I end up there, I'll definitely buy you a drink.

I know it's not the best pub in the world, but I would recommend the Crown and Greyhound in Dulwich Village for a large event, easy to find location, and somewher with a big garden which caters for all... You can hire the back rooms during summer I believe leading into the gardens. :)