Backland Development: 55-77 Friern Rd

There has been a long running history of planning applications for the land behind 55-77 Friern Rd SE 22

1) [06-AP-1946] to develop into houses and/or flats by, I believe, the Gardner Partnership

2) [07 AP 0-156] MYN Properties to develop considerably 67 Friern Rd which is directly connected to the land of the first project.

As a local resident I have objected several times to repeated applications on the grounds that Southwark Planners ought to thinking in usage terms of community gardens, creches, community centres etc for this kind of small parcel of backland, rather than giving free reign to commercial developers whose sole objective is to develop the land and sell for the highest possible profit.

The nature of this particular development, crammed into a minimum of space, right next to residential houses is completely different in nature to more reasonable pieces of land nearby where much needed new housing and flats have been built.

In my conversations with the two (!) different planning officers responsible for this development - yes that's right.. there are two completely different planning officers responsible for these applications virtually next door to each other, I have been told that "each application is considered on its own merits entirely".

Whereas it seems common sense that in such a small area, a planning decision needs to be taken with an overall perspective on the road, its residents and the intended development. I have repeatedly asked that a Planning Policy should take in the entire development and relate it to the needs of the area but been told that Southwark's policy is strictly to see each application on its own terms.

My request to those reading is that if anyone feels motivated to influence curent policy and object to this kind of back land development they might write to [email protected]

Are you the same Adam Glasser of the EDEN Group ?