Neighbour from hell - advice please!

BecsBex

Hi all,

So, I live in a lovely one-bed garden flat. I've been renting here since summer 2011. I live below a woman who can only be described as a miserable old bitch. I'm a very affable person and have done my best to be pleasant with her but from the moment we met (in our shared corridor) she has been nothing but rude. We have had a ridiculous ongoing issue with the shared side gate, which she was convinced I was locking her out of on purpose. In fact, when I moved in the estate agent (HAART) specifically told me that the upstairs flat did not use their garden and that the shared access wasn't an issue. Once the upstairs neighbour had made it clear that I was breaching her 'peaceful right to access' (what?) by locking the gate, I stopped locking the gate. However, the gate and frame are very old and the wood was warping badly which meant the lock kept getting stuck. The neighbour was convinced that I was locking the gate on purpose and kept knocking on my door to shout in my face about it (it is my conclusion that she is incapable of speaking and can only shout). On one occasion my boyfriend, who is generally a very pleasant chap, went outside to explain to her about the warping wood. He got as far as "hello, I -" before she launched into a diatribe of verbal abuse, threatening to call the police and have him arrested if he spoke to her again, accusing him of having a got at her "because [he's] a man", etc etc. She has threatened on several occasions to "get a man round to sort [me] out" and has also threatened my boyfriend with this. I reported this to Southwark Council using the antisocial behaviour form online but, surprise surprise, had no response. I then managed to convince my landlord to have the lock on the gate replaced and repositioned which has solved the problem of the gate sticking, plus I forked out myself to have a key cut for the beast upstairs because HAART would not provide a key for the new lock for