Snowy Weather - Likely problems?

oisins

Hullo

I see that we have snow warnings for London for the weekend. I am new to the ED area (and relatively new to London) and wondered if anyone had any idea how badly snow is likely to disrupt local travel. Any advice from those with experience of previous snowy periods in ED would be great. I assume the tubes in central london will be reliable, but how reliable are the local trains to Denmark Hill/Peckham Rye/ED in bad weather?

Also, I have friends due to visit by car for the weekend and they were worried about what the roads in the area are likely to be like - they are driving in from Gatwick Friday night so should be on main roads most of the way in but will be on local roads once they hit ED (we live in the Dog Kennel Hill estate). How good have the council been in the past at keeping roads clear?

Thanks so much to anyone who has any advice on this.

Oisin

If the snow is very bad then probably the main roads will be fine, but obviously the council does not have the resources to keep clear every single side road.

Last time there was heavy snow it was virtually impossible to travel by car via side roads for a day or so.

Transport will depend on the particular situation. I think it's probably impossible to predict. Tubes should be OK though I don't know about those lines which are partially overground.

ETA: Probably best to keep an eye on the Met Office weather forecasts for London, which may change as it gets closer to the weekend.

ETA: There was one infamous occasion when London buses were brought to a complete standstill by snow, but the tubes were unaffected - assuming you could get to a tube station!

Thanks Sue. I guess it's wait and see!