High street hanging baskets this year?

Big Tone

I've lived and worked in East Dulwich for years now and noticed that over the years Lordship Lane's street hanging baskets have gradually gone from rubbish to crap and then finally last year none!! I know there's worse things going on in the world but you'd think as it costs so much to live hear now a days and all the high street shops and bars charge a fortune the council would splash out on a few flowers here and there. Even Peckham and Nunhead have them and if you ever travel to Crystal Palace and even Penge they're everywhere. Weren't they supposed to be doing something with Goose Green Park and be planting a tree or some awful piece of art on the roundabout last year!!! An xmas tree would be nice so every year lights could be put on them like around the Village and West Dulwich. I'm new to this so sorry for going on to long.

Big Tone - hanging baskets and colourful flowers are all very well for Penge and Nunhead, but Lordship Lane is all about clean lines, architectural planting, and Christopher Bradley-Hole.

I agree about the Christmas tree though. Although don't lights get strung into some of the existing tress on Goose Green, or is that my memory playing tricks?

Hanging baskets would be nice, but I don't want municipal pansies. How about hanging baskets with local plants and flowers, rather than the gaudy stuff we usually get. Cleaner, Greener Southwark might help out here? If not, then there is a section of the council that does this, so why not ring and ask, Big Tone. I look forward to hearing more about it. Nero