Teachers leaving Academy schools in droves

As a FE teacher and a mother of a child currently in secondary education ( Kingsdale ) i would just like to forward a point of view from someone in the system & someone who is very worried about the future of schooling in the UK.

I read both the article in the Guardian & the subsequent comments , many removed for obvious reasons.

I worked in the fashion industry for years before making a jump into FE with a view of giving something back to our youth. Over the last few years with the funding issues , constant paper trails , bullying to achieve targets , E&D to the extreme i too find myself completely disillusioned to the degree that for the first time in 25 yrs i took a weeks sick leave.

Despite the common view we have oodles of time off & are a bunch of dossers the reality is many of us work unbelievable hours , planning , remarking , enrichment , weekend recruitment etc & this pressure has increased dramatically over the past 2 years under Gove. Many of my colleagues are also leaving education in droves to return back into Industry where an opinion is listened to & a working life negotiable.

Re Kingsdale as many other schools i suspect this is the same & there is no sinister reason for high turnover just a desire for individuals to remain sane or relocate to easier options. Many secondary school teachers are going into Primary where the pressure is less - at the moment. The fact that they have had just large movement may also coincide with the increase in popularity of this school. There is a huge expectation on the school to deliver & many teachers won't follow this dream as the reality of working hours becomes extreme.

As a mother, my son had a science teacher this year who was clearly disengaged , didn't mark homework and generally left a view that they weren't cut out to teach. They left & was replaced by a young graduate who has breathed life into the class.