I was mugged tonight junction grove vale/elsie grove - be aware when on your mobile

Just a warning to you all.

I am a student in my early twenties and was mugged tonight at about 7pm on my way home from work. I was walking in the direction from east dulwich station towards goose green on the phone to my mum and was mugged at the junction of grove vale and elsie road. The man stole the phone right out of my hand. The mugger was a young black man wearing a dark blue/grey hoodie. The hood was pulled up obscuring his face.

I was extremely angry and chased the young man. He was not running very fast and I could have caught him but I was stopped by other women and a couple of women with young children passing by, which was probably good for my safety. I would like to say thank you to those women for thinking about my safety it means a lot to me especially as several grown men pretended they had not witnessed the incident.

East dulwich police were absolutely fantastic and drove me around the area looking for the suspect and drove me home. It restored my faith in human nature! As we drove I noticed that pretty much every person leaving east dulwich train station was on the phone and I wanted to pass this on as a warning that walking along grove vale everyone is a target and be aware of your surroundings.

Sorry to hear that. Shocking that it happened in broad daylight on a busy street, when most people would feel safe. And disappointing that nobody tried to help you chase the guy down (but I guess people may be worried about knives).

A similar thing happened to me a few years ago opposite the station - I chased the kid as far as East Dulwich Grove, at which point he handed the phone over to his mate. I started chasing him too, but was exhausted by that point!

Thats a terrible thing to happen, but alas, not uncommon.