Who's an estate agent?

What with all the estate agent bashing that goes on here, whether deserved or undeserved. It would be good to hear from those at the receiving end of it. Are there any estate agents who log on to EDF? and if so what do think of the criticisms raised - parking, saturation, etc.. - do you agree or disagree? If you work in ED do you actually live here?

Sorry Jeremy,as an estate agent and having lived in ED for almost 20 years, probably far longer than you, and immensley loyal to the area, I have been an avid follower of the forum for some time, have made a few comments, and even replied in my very helpful way of recommending a window cleaner and removal firm, and I am here to stay!

I know my profession is hated, but then so are lawyers, politicians, and traffic wardens and I'm sure there is a sprinkling of them reading this column - are they going to end up in the stocks as well?

I don't work in East Dulwich/Lordship Lane, so am not responsible for being a little beetle. For me as a resident, the parking on my road is horrendous at all times of the day and night - and I am far enough away from the Lane to not have the decorated minis and beetles, most cars are (or rather the drivers are) frequenting the various bars etc. The popularity of the area is bringing the consequences - remember Clapham 15 years ago - it started getting trendy and look at it now, everyones coming here - where will we all go to next I wonder. As far as saturation goes, there is, judging by the numbers of properties F....... have available, enough to go round, but if you do look for example at their web site, they are picking up a lot of business in Brockley, Peckham and west Dulwich - they certainly will sort out the less than able/reputable agents on the block.

No doubt you will hear from me again......

Hennypenny, I am a lawyer, please do not put me in the same maligned category as estate agents.

Lawyers: 3 year degree; 1 year LPC; 2 years of solicitor training.