bus journey to central london from LL

bil

Dear all

I am considering leaving my beloved car at home to take the bus to work. I haven't used the bus in 2 years but recently used it a couple of times and the experience is much better than i remember. Besides with all the road humps, in my little car, my 20-30 minute journey is uncomfortable and tiring. AND it takes the same amount of time by bus (because of the bus lanes, which as a driver I abhor, but obviously appreciated when I "zoomed" by on the bus)

Anyway my questions are to those who have experience of using bus routes 185, 176, 12, 40 from dulwich library/plough area.

During rush hour are the buses very crowded? Do you have to let 1,2 or 3 pass by before you can get on? Are they frequent enough to be able to do that? Is your general experience good?

Much appreciated

Hi bil,

I started using the bus a few weeks ago - normally got train from West Dulwich. I can get from Dulwich Library to Fenchurch St on the number 40, anything from 40 mins to 1 hour - depends on what time i get to the bus stop at. If i get there about 7.40, I can get to Fenchurch at about 8.40. You can get a seat there, but as the journey goes towards the city, it does get really crowded.

I prefer it to the train/tube etc., just sit there and listen to music/read for a hour. Actually I am more relaxed going to work now, then I was making the other journey.

Buses are horrible. Buy a big SUV and you won't feel all those nasty bumps. In all seriousness, the cycle ride to the west end is a treat and takes half the time with many safe, pleasant and green routes to be found. I personally cannot stand the bus due to the amount of mobile phone music played on them.

Good morning all